Magical Hair Elixir

Untitled.png

Yes. I am a medieval peddler. I have been found out.
No, but really, guys… this stuff is short of liquid magic in the form of a few combined essential oils.

You see, I have a complicated relationship with my hair. And since Pinterest entered my life it has only been made more and more complicated. Namely, I think I want a certain hairstyle but then I see a beautiful picture on the damned site and totally change my mind. Which is why my hair has gone from long and brown to short with red streaks, to long and brown with blue streaks, to short and red, long and red, short and purple,  short and brown (again) (that last one is mostly because my new-adult job required a certain degree of seriousness) and right back to crazy-fantasy colour (pink) and long as soon as I started grad school. But you get the idea: Pinterest + no fear of trying new looks = me = hair that has put up with more than it probably should.

(Although, to be fair, I have been giving my hair a break in favor of a) eco-friendliness and b) congruence with making my own cosmetics)

Anyway, this elixir is good for you on a number of different counts and is not hard to make at all. Plus you have some options on the kind of oils and things you choose to use:

The first thing you need is about 60ml of a base oil (mainly because it’s not a great idea to rub essential oils directly onto yourself unless you’re absolutely, 100% certain you can handle it)… I personally prefer to use grapeseed oil since it promotes hair growth, and prevents frizz, split ends and brittle hair. It also moisturises your hair without leaving it all greasy and heavy and has no scent. (Plus a ton more other properties you can learn about here)

If grapeseed oil is not exactly your cup of tea, you can also use avocado oil, which contains an impressive amount of nutrients and vitamins (such as vitamin A, B, and C, amino-acids, iron and folic acid) which are all super beneficial to hair growth and nourishment. It also helps moisturise you hair and gives a deep beautiful shine. This oil, however, has a bit more of a scent, it’s sort of earthy-planty and rich, it’s not intrusive though, and it blends well with the oils I work with.

Other oil options include macadamia oil (great for hair that has undergone a lot of heat or chemical treatments), argan oil, jojoba oil (great for people with dandruff problems), and of course the internet favorite: coconut oil. Each of these have their own benefits and drawbacks; if you use too much macadamia oil, for example, your hair will end-up feeling super greasy and heavy.

Next you add about 10-15 of lavender, rosemary and cedar essential oils, mix them up with an up and down motion for about 30 seconds (be careful not to shake) aaand you’re good to go.

769px-Lavandula_angustifolia_003.JPG

So, you might be wondering, why those oils? (Or, you know, you might have stopped reading three paragraphs ago..) Well, here’s why, anyway:

Lavender essential oil is a great moisturiser, improves blood circulation, promotes hair growth and prevents hair loss. It also has antiseptic and antimicrobial properties which means it’s great for treating dandruff or small scalp injuries (such as those cause by scratching too hard).

Rosemary essential oil is full of antioxidants, it prevents hair rosemary-581943_960_720.jpg and thining and encourages blood circulation (and hence, hair growth). It also helps prevent dandruff and tones down the oiliness in hair.

And finally cedar oil, which also controls oil secretion, promotes circulation and has antiseptic properties. This oil *might* also be effective in reversing hair loss. (It does, however have a stronger, very woodsy scent which some people might not like.. if this is your case, you might consider trying imgres.jpgother oils such as thyme or vetiver).

And that’s it, nor microwave or even any special skills required. You just need about 2-4 drops of the mixture (depending on your hair-length), you rub in your hands and then in circular motions around your scalp first, and then whatever’s left on the rest of your hair. I do this daily after my hair has dried and I’d like to believe it’s part of the reason my hair is shiny and soft and reminiscent of a Disney-princess. And, of course, a great part of why I smell like tea

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.